Indivision ECS v3 joystick stuck up

Caution: Non registered users only see threads and messages in the currently selected language, which is determined by their browser. Please create an account and log in to see all content by default. This is a limitation of the forum software.

Also users that are not logged in can not create new threads. This is a, unfortunately needed, counter measure against spam. Please create an account and log in to start new threads.

Don't Panic. Please wash hands.
  • TL;DR version of my problem - A500 with Indivision ECS v3 (no joystick attached in CN2) constantly moves up. Works with standard Denise.

Any idea what could be so close to failure that an original Denise ignores it, but the ECS triggers?

At first I didn't even think about swapping back to the original Denise, since everything on the forums pointed me towards the multiplexer at U15.

Multimeter and logic probe (I'm no expert) indicated that it was working, but I socketed U15 anyway. It tested OK with a TL866-II programmer, but I ordered

replacements from China anyway. They also tested OK, and work with the standard Denise. The ECS v3 is flashed with the latest firmware (20201120) and I have the latest tools (v2.7).

The A500 is usually maxed out (Gotek, ACA500+, ACA1232, XSURF500) with a CA-PSU and everything is stable. Now I'm testing with only Gotek and Indivision ECS v3, not even extra RAM.

I should test the Indivision in one of my spare A500s, but this one's my favorite and I would like it to keep working.

• There's multiple cases like this already in this forum: The joystick multiplexer chip is defective and doesn't output a high-enough voltage to reach the minimum required for an LVCMOS input. The chip is located very close to the mouse/joystick ports and is normally a 74LS157. You can replace it with a 74HC157 or 74HCT157 if you don't find the LS version.

Jens