Micromys V5 sensitivity with C64

Caution: Non registered users only see threads and messages in the currently selected language, which is determined by their browser. Please create an account and log in to see all content by default. This is a limitation of the forum software.

Also users that are not logged in can not create new threads. This is a, unfortunately needed, counter measure against spam. Please create an account and log in to start new threads.

Don't Panic. Please wash hands.
  • Hi, this is my first time writing here.

I have the Micromys V5 with slim connector that I bought in August.

I have a logitech PS/2 mouse M-SBF69 connected to it.

Originally I tested the mouse + Micromys combination with (C64) Arkanoid and Arkanoid2

and they worked well, albeit movements were noticeably very sensitive and required

only very small mouse displacements.

Recently I tried a couple of other (C64) games. Eye of the beholder was at first unplayable,

because the mouse pointer was jumping all over the place. I'm guessing because of excessive sensitivity. Fortunately EOTB had

the alternative sensitivity option and that calmed the movements down to a very usable level.

I then tried Maniac Manson, the version with mouse support, but the mouse was again very hard to control, that

again felt like too big a response to my tiny movements.

Lemmings was playable but required very small and careful movements.

So my question is, is there was a way to lower the pointer speed if there is no (C64) software option for doing this in application?

I'm using automatic detection.

Thanks,

• Hi Tobias,
    I bought the Logitech M-SBF69 (optical) as it was the only one being sold by someone nearby.

I don't know its tracking DPI. Quickly googling with the product ID produces only hits of for sale announcements (probably second hand).

If this is a case of too big a DPI, is there a model you'd recommend that one might be able to buy?

In what range should the DPI value be?