Material from Revision 2020 seminar: Designing a better Amiga PSU

Caution: Non registered users only see threads and messages in the currently selected language, which is determined by their browser. Please create an account and log in to see all content by default. This is a limitation of the forum software.

Also users that are not logged in can not create new threads. This is a, unfortunately needed, counter measure against spam. Please create an account and log in to start new threads.

Don't Panic. Please wash hands.
  • Hi everyone,

as promised in the seminar that was aired around 14:00 today, here's the material:

1) the slides - these are in PDF format, so most of you can view it.

Designing_a_better_Amiga_PSU.pdf

2) the measurement data. This is a Libre Office calc file - not sure if Excel can open it, but it's worth a try. I had to pack it, otherwise this forum software doesn't accept it.

PSU_Load_measurements.7z

I am kinda new to presenting numbers in diagrams in Calc, so the diagrams do have the weakness that the points aren't in the exact right position. This may be improved, and I am happy to take some advice on how to do that.

What the diagram does show is that the voltage of my "Prototype #2" is most stable, and ripple is the lowest in the measurement series. Further, what I did not show in the seminar (because I didn't have the diagram finished in time) is the correlation of 12V-load and 5V drop, which is in the last sub-table. THe 5V drop is not all that high, but if you take ripple and cable/filter drop into account, it may add up to taking a 3.3V regulator into oscillation. There is really no technical necessity to compensate against the 12V-load-caused 5V drop, but I figured that while I was at "compensating" anyway, I might as well compensate that.