questions regarding ACA1234

Caution: Non registered users only see threads and messages in the currently selected language, which is determined by their browser. Please create an account and log in to see all content by default. This is a limitation of the forum software.

Also users that are not logged in can not create new threads. This is a, unfortunately needed, counter measure against spam. Please create an account and log in to start new threads.

Don't Panic. Please wash hands.
  • i purchased an amiga 1200 with a aca1221lc aolready installed in the trap door which works fine, however i would like to upgrade to the ACA1234 clocked at 50mhz.

i'm no amiga expert and only in recent years moved from using winuae to real amiga systems so the ACA1234 shop page info kinda confused me.

firstly the things you will need section - motherboard patches as described by Commodore: A1200 capacitors E123C and E125C may need to be removed.

how do i know if i need to do this on my a1200 before buying the ACA1234?

secondly this section - if you find that your CPU can accept a certain level of overclocking, you can purchase a permanent overclocking license.

does this mean some amiga 1200's will not work properly with the ACA1234 clock speed set to 50mhz? in that case is it better to buy the 25mhz version and perform test at higher mhz values and purchase the overclock license if all does well?

thirdly - is the control software for the ACA1234 available as a download or is is built into the ACA1234 itself? i'm hoping the software does not arrive as a floppy as ihave an internal gotek which was already installed before i purchased the amiga 1200 and no spare floppy drive.

thanks.

• how do i know if i need to do this on my a1200 before buying the ACA1234?