ACA500+ Aux CF not working with CF/SD adapter

Caution: Non registered users only see threads and messages in the currently selected language, which is determined by their browser. Please create an account and log in to see all content by default. This is a limitation of the forum software.

Also users that are not logged in can not create new threads. This is a, unfortunately needed, counter measure against spam. Please create an account and log in to start new threads.

Don't Panic. Please wash hands.
  • Hello,

I'm just getting started using my ACA500+ (currently with an ACA1221ec) and I was trying to update the firmware + add ACATool, using a FAT formatted card in the Aux CF port.

For this I'm using a microSD card in a SD adapter in a SD->CF adapter (the red one you find everywhere on eBay etc)
    I've verified the whole adapter setup works when plugged on my laptop using a USB CF card reader.

Unfortunately neither the firmware flash tool nor Workbench recognise the card. I think the flash tool actually says there is a CF card inserted but it can't see the update file. The LED stays on while the card is inserted, and after a few seconds the A500's power led starts flickering !

I don't think the Aux port is completely broken because a few hours before that, I managed to copy files between 2 Amiga formatted CF cards in the 2 ports.

Maybe I should mention that the card was FAT-formatted on a Mac using Disk Utility, but I don't think that's a factor because FAT volumes created this way usually work in my Gotek and other embedded devices with no issues.

Something else that I noticed is that I started getting checksum errors on the boot CF card that I had imaged a few hours before.

Any ideas if it's likely to be an incompatibility with the adapter, or something faulty with the ACA500+ ?

Thanks

• More info after some testing :

- The flash update tool says it can see a CF card but it's not FAT.